Broken strings / ; By Walters, Eric,

Format:A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase. It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on the Roof, but is crushed to learn that she's been given the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to throw herself into the role, she rummages in her grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible and wonderful.
Copyright:2019
ISBN:9780735266247
LCCN:2018955366
Publisher:Toronto : Puffin Canada ,
Physical Details: 282 pages ; 22 cm.
Notes:The word "broken" in title has the Magen David symbol in place of the "o" on title page and jacket cover.
Record No.:405916
Type/Format Call Number Location Due Date Last Seen Barcode
02. English Fiction F WAL Summerside Intermediate School 2022-02-08 SISX27572
02. English Fiction F WAL Stratford Elementary 2022-03-10 STRA31598
02. English Fiction F WAL Parkside Elementary School 2021-05-17 2021-04-07 PSXX28740
02. English Fiction F WAL Eliot River Elementary School 2021-12-10 ERES43661
02. English Fiction F WAL Mt. Stewart Consolidated School 2021-02-10 MSCS14679
02. English Fiction F WAL Eliot River Elementary School 2022-06-07 2022-05-17 ERES43403
02. English Fiction F WAL LM Montgomery Elementary School 2021-12-13 LMMS35298
02. English Fiction F WAL East Wiltshire Intermediate School 2021-06-29 EWSX16828
02. English Fiction F WAL Queen Charlotte Intermediate School 2021-04-12 QCHS23840
02. English Fiction F WAL LM Montgomery Elementary School 2021-05-31 LMMS35847
02. English Fiction F WAL Souris Regional School 2022-04-13 SRHS22032
02. English Fiction F WAL Mt. Stewart Consolidated School 2021-11-02 MSCS13293
02. English Fiction F WAL Athena Consolidated School 2021-06-28 ACSX27584
02. English Fiction F WAL Queen Charlotte Intermediate School 2021-04-28 QCHS23868
02. English Fiction F WAL Morell Consolidated School 2021-05-14 MORC13182
02. English Fiction F YAF WAL Gulf Shore Consolidated School 2020-12-16 GULF18413
02. English Fiction F WAL West Kent Elementary School 2021-12-13 WKXX24377
02. English Fiction F WAL Elm Street Elementary School 2022-04-26 ESSX32355
02. English Fiction F WAL Vernon River Consolidated School 2021-10-25 VRCS11695
02. English Fiction F WAL Morell Consolidated School 2021-06-17 MORC13082
02. English Fiction F WAL LM Montgomery Elementary School 2021-11-23 LMMS35912
02. English Fiction F WAL Englewood School 2021-03-03 ENGL15538
02. English Fiction F WAL Eliot River Elementary School 2022-05-19 ERES43404